23 March 2008

The New 7 Wonders Of The World (Part 1 of 7)

The New 7 Wonders of the World were announced during the Official Declaration ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal on Saturday, July 7, 2007 - 07.07.07.

Here is the first part of the 7 part series.

The Pyramid at Chichén Itzá (before 800 A.D.) Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico

Chichén Itzá, the most famous Mayan temple city, served as the political and economic center of the Mayan civilization. Its various structures - the pyramid of Kukulkan, the Temple of Chac Mool, the Hall of the Thousand Pillars, and the Playing Field of the Prisoners – can still be seen today and are demonstrative of an extraordinary commitment to architectural space and composition. The pyramid itself was the last, and arguably the greatest, of all Mayan temples.

Many people who have travelled there have claimed unusual encounters.

Some reported that it was easy going up, but difficult coming down.

Others say they feel dizzy and disoriented at the top of the pyramind.

AND, if you are thinking of travelling there, here is the info:

Chichen Itza is the most visited site in the Yucatán and it can get very crowded here, so if at all possible try to arrive soon after the 8am opening. This will give you time to climb the Pyramid of Kukulkan before it gets too hot, and will allow you to view the whole site from the top before the crowds swarm in. Alternatively, leave your visit until later in the day and stay overnight nearer the site, returning in the early morning. Ideally, you will need two days for a good understanding of the site, which covers 4 square miles.

Admission charge to the ruins is around 10 US dollars. The evening sound and light show costs around 4 dollars (add another 3 dollars for headphones if you want to listen to the commentary in English). The show usually starts at around 7pm. Your ticket permits re-entry on the same day only.

(Researched from various sources on the internet)

1 Macro Voice(s):

Samy said...

Mexico is in my list for a near future... hehehe